Local Government Environment Awards

  • Date:

    29 November 2016

  • Location:

    Doltone House, Darling Island Wharf, Sydney

  • Recognising outstanding achievements by local government in managing and protecting the environment.

The Local Government Excellence in the Environment Awards were initiated in 1998 and are held annually. The Awards are open to all local government organisations in NSW.

The Awards culminate in two prestigious Local Sustainability Awards: one for overall council performance, and one to recognise the individual achievements of a council staff member or elected councillor in the field of sustainability.

2016 Finalists

Congratulations to the following Finalists.  Winners will be announced at a ceremony on Tuesday 29 November 2016 at Doltone House, Darling Island Wharf, Sydney.

Asbestos Management

Western Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils - Western Sydney Asbestos Answers Facebook campaign

Climate Change Action

Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Holroyd, Fairfield, Hawkesbury, The Hills, Liverpool, Parramatta, Penrith Councils - Light years ahead
Blacktown City Council - Cool streets
Hunter & Central Coast Regional Environmental Management Strategy - Regional heatwave resilience project
Penrith City Council - Cooling the city

Communication, Education and Empowerment  

Leichhardt Municipal Council (Inner West Council) - On tour: sustainable food, fashion and fun!
MIDWASTE - Frugal forest
Rockdale City Council (Bayside Council) - Engaging the community: landing lights wetland restoration
Waverley Council - Second Nature 'I'm in' community engagement campaign

Community Sharps Management

City of Ryde Council – Sharps Disposal

Invasive Species Management   

Bankstown City Council (City of Canterbury-Bankstown) - Feral rabbit management in urban Bankstown
Camden Council - Management of Australian white ibis at Lake Annan, Mount Annan
Clarence Valley Council - Use community based social marketing for effective tropical soda apple management
Palerang Council (Queanbeyan–Palerang Regional Council) - Weed identification and mapping from high resolution aerial photography

Natural Environment Policies, Planning and Decision Making    

Palerang Council (Queanbeyan–Palerang Regional Council) - Remote pilot aircraft aerial imaging trial
Sydney Peri Urban Network of Councils - Sydney food futures project

Natural Environment Protection & Enhancement: On-Ground Works

Bankstown City Council (City of Canterbury-Bankstown) - Habitat box program
Bathurst Regional Council - Restoring regent honeyeater habitat in the Bathurst region
Blue Mountains City Council - Leura Falls catchment improvement project
Orange City Council - Gosling Creek Reserve precinct floating island and hollows habitat
Parkes Shire Council - PAC Park urban wetland construction
Wagga Wagga City Council - Marrambidya Wetland

Roadside Environmental Management   

Ballina Shire Council - Chickiba Roadside Wetlands restoration project
Lachlan Shire Council - Roadside corridor assessment and management guidelines
Moree Plains Shire Council - Roadside environmental management plan

Sustainable Procurement  

Marrickville Council (Inner West Council) - Embedding sustainability into 'value for money'

Resource Recovery   

Broken Hill City Council - Increasing resource recovery for Broken Hill
Campbelltown City Council - Annual free recyclables drop-off day

Waste Avoidance and Reuse   

Lismore City Council - Lismore revolve shop and recycled market
Parramatta City Council – The R3 program: resource, rescue and reuse

Waste Education and Communication   

Lachlan Shire Council - Lachlan Shire waste services rationalisation
Warringah Council (Northern Beaches Council) - The Sort it Out campaign

Water Conservation

Ballina Shire Council - Pressure and leakage management plan

Local Sustainability

Ballina Shire Council – Sustainability: serving the community of today whilst preparing for the challenges of tomorrow
Camden Council - Sustainable Camden

Louise Petchell Memorial Award for Individual Sustainability

Winner to be announced at the Awards on Tuesday 29 November


NSW Environment Protection Authority Logo
Local Government Super Loog

Department of Primary Industries logo







Media Sponsor