NSW Public Holidays


Industrial Officer
Workplace Relations Unit
Phone: 02 9242 4049
[email protected]

NSW Public Holidays

Councils are reminded of the public holidays for the remainder of the year and up to 2024.

More detailed information on public holidays for individual council areas including the table below can be found online at NSW Industrial Relations website.

Councils are advised that employees required to work on public holidays are entitled to be paid in accordance with Clause 22A, Holidays, of the Local Government (State) Award 2023.




New Year's Day

Monday, 1 January

Wednesday, 1 January

Thursday, 1 January

Australia Day

Friday, 26 January

Monday, 27 January

Monday, 26 January

Good Friday

Friday, 29 March

Friday, 18 April

Friday, 3 April

Easter Saturday – the Saturday following Good Friday

Saturday, 30 March

Saturday, 19 April

Saturday, 4 April

Easter Sunday

Sunday, 31 March

Sunday, 20 April

Sunday, 5 April

Easter Monday

Monday, 1 April

Monday, 21 April

Monday, 6 April

Anzac Day

Thursday, 25 April

Friday, 25 April

Saturday, 25 April

King's Birthday

Monday, 10 June

Monday, 9 June

Monday, 8 June

Labour Day

Monday, 7 October

Monday, 6 October

Monday, 5 October

Christmas Day public holiday

Wednesday, 25 December

Thursday, 25 December

Friday, 25 December

Boxing Day

Thursday, 26 December

Friday, 26 December

Saturday, 26 December

Additional Day



**Monday, 28 December 

*The Public Holidays Act 2010 (NSW) provides that when Australia Day (26 January) falls on a Saturday or Sunday, there will be no public holiday on that day as the following Monday will be declared a public holiday.

**The Public Holidays Act 2010 (NSW) provides for an Additional Day when New Year's Day, Christmas Day or Boxing Day falls on a Saturday or Sunday.