Excellence in the Environment Awards


Denise Anderson
Senior Policy Officer - Environment

Phone: 02 9242 4056 
[email protected]

Registration Enquiries
Contact our Events Team

Phone: 02 9242 4000
[email protected]

In 1997, Local Government NSW’s predecessor organisation initiated environment awards aimed at the work councils do on behalf of their communities.

The awards in 2021 celebrate 24 years of inspiration from NSW councils in programs, projects and people across 14 award categories, culminating in two prestigious Local Sustainability Awards:

  • For overall council performance, and
  • To recognise the individual achievements of a council staff member or elected councillor in the field of sustainability.
The 2021 Excellence in the Environment Awards will be announced on 16 November during an online awards ceremony. 


Our Finalists' Forum showcasing council environment projects will be held online on 9 November.


This year's finalists

LGNSW is excited to announce the 2021 finalists for the Excellence in the Environment Awards.

Asbestos Management
  • Penrith City Council: Managing asbestos during council projects
  • Randwick City Council: Purcell Park asbestos remediation and stormwater harvesting
Behaviour Change in Waste
  • Blacktown City Council: Buses, trains and automobiles
  • Forbes Shire Council: FOGO deep dive education project
  • Randwick City Council: Small change, big difference – a community engagement campaign for successful FOGO implementation
  • Strathfield Municipal Council: Don't be a tosser
Climate Change Adaptation
  • Cumberland City Council: UV smart cool playground: Memorial Park
  • Waverley Council: Future proofing residential development to climate change
Towards Net Zero Emissions
  • Lachlan Shire Council: Energy sustainability plan
  • Randwick City Council: Sustainability rebates for residents and businesses
Communication, Education and Empowerment
  • Blue Mountains City Council: Connect to nature program
  • Byron Shire Council: "Bow wow leash me now!" dog owner behaviour change campaign
  • Muswellbrook Shire Council: Sustainable futures - Muswellbrook connect program
  • Parramatta River Catchment Group: Changemakers in the Parramatta River catchment
  • Penrith City Council: Supporting sustainable choices scheme
Innovation in Planning, Policies and Decision Making
  • City of Sydney: Cleaning up ESD reports for large scale development applications: City of Sydney environmental performance template
  • Randwick City Council: Randwick's precinct collaboration area zero emissions strategy
  • Singleton Council: Singleton's sustainable future project
  • Wagga Wagga City Council: Biodiversity Strategy: Maldhangilanha 2020-2030
Invasive Species Management
  • Fairfield City Council: Red-eared slider turtle - most unwanted in Fairfield LGA
  • Hilltops Council: Hume Highway aerial granular flupropanate trial
  • Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council: WeedsCon 2020
Natural Environment Protection and Enhancement: On-Ground Works
  • Central Coast Council: Little Tern conservation project
  • Strathfield Municipal Council: Bring back the Bellfrog
  • Tweed Shire Council: Tweed Coast koala research hub
Roadside Environmental Management
  • Penrith City Council: Roadside vegetation
Sustainable Infrastructure
  • Central Coast Council: Recreational infrastructure upgrades: kayak launching facility – southern Tuggerah Lakes
  • Lachlan Shire Council: Renewable energy project
Transitioning to a Circular Economy
  • Shoalhaven City Council: Glass recycling facility - Shoalhaven
  • Sutherland Shire Council: Sustainable road pavement program
Water Management
  • Shoalhaven City Council: REMS 1B works
  • Wollondilly Shire Council: Integrated water management strategy
Local Sustainability
  • Northern Beaches Council: Towards net zero Northern Beaches
  • Wollongong City Council: Sustainable Wollongong 2030
Louise Petchell Memorial Award for Individual Sustainability
  • Announced during the awards ceremony


No content found

No content found

No content found

No content found

Exclusive Event Sponsor

Category Sponsors

Roadside Environment Committee logo

Wolf Peak logo

Cleanaway logo


NSW Government sponsors include: