1883 - The Municipal Association was formed as a lobbying group to represent corporations within the Municipalities Act of 1858. It was also formed for the creation of a legislative base for Local Government (the 1906 and 1919 Acts).

1907 - The Municipal Association changed its name to the ‘Local Government Association’ to include the newly created Shires.

1908 - The Shires Association was formed to separately represent the Shires. Both Associations operated independently with a Secretary as the only permanent staff.

1922 - When the Secretary of the Shires Association, Mr T Glassop, couldn’t attend a local government meeting in Melbourne,  the Secretary of the Local Government Association, Mr AR Bluett, stepped in to  represent both Associations.

Mr Glassop’s health had been deteriorating for some time and, following the 1922 Annual Conference, he was granted two months’ sick leave. The President reported that Mr Bluett had offered to undertake the role of Secretary during the absence "without fee of any kind."

Two days before the end of Mr Glassop's leave, he passed away. The Shires President asked Mr Bluett to continue acting and at the next Shires Annual Conference Mr Bluett was  formally appointed as Secretary and Solicitor. From 1922, both Associations operated with a common secretariat but in all other ways continued as separate organisations and maintained separate accounts.

Late 60s - The Associations continued to operate with only two staff - the Secretary and his assistant - for the next 40-50 years. In the late 60s, the staff numbers increased to provide additional services to members. Staff were paid by each Association alternatively each pay period.  And, at the end of the financial year, received two group certificates.

70s-80s - Staffing continued to increase. In May 1981, at a meeting of the Joint Committee, it was agreed that the Associations would operate with a joint budget effective from the 1981/1982 financial year. 


1 March 2013 - The Local Government Association of NSW and the Shires Association of NSW merged to become one association, known as Local Government NSW, representing all councils in NSW.