Excellence in the Environment Awards

  • Date:

    3 December 2018

  • Time:

    9:30 am - 4:00 pm

  • Location:

    Waterview, Bicentennial Drive, Bicentennial Park, Sydney Olympic Park

  • Recognising outstanding achievements by local government in managing and protecting the environment.

In 1997, Local Government NSW’s predecessor organisation initiated environment awards aimed at the work that councils do on behalf of their communities. This year the Excellence in the Environment Awards celebrate twenty one years of inspiration from NSW councils in programs, projects and people across 15 award categories, culminating in two prestigious Local Sustainability Awards: one for overall council performance, and one to recognise the individual achievements of a council staff member or elected councillor in the field of sustainability.

Invitation to Attend the 21st Birthday of the LGNSW Environment Awards

Invitation to Attend the 21st Birthday of the LGNSW Environment Awards


2018 Environment Awards and Finalists' Forum Program 

2018 Finalists

Congratulations to the following Finalists.  Winners will be announced at a ceremony on Monday 3 December at Waterview, Homebush.

Asbestos Management

Ballina Shire Council - Integrated asbestos waste management program
Wollongong City Council - Asbestos awareness: a matter of life and death

Behaviour Change in Waste

Cessnock City Council - Better not mess with Cessnock: illegal dumping campaign
City of Parramatta - To bin or not to bin, that is the question: The Riverside Theatres’ waste campaign
Riverina Eastern Regional Organisation of Councils - Recycle night? Recycle right!

Community Waste Services

Albury City Council - Upcycle Shop
Blacktown City Council - All Eyes on Blacktown: reducing takeaway litter through enforcement and fast food outlet partnerships
Inner West Council - Rethinking Food Organics: one size doesn't fit all

Resource Recovery 

Cessnock City Council - Game changer: the development of a transfer station at Cessnock Waste Management Centre

Climate Change Action 

Northern Beaches Council - Building resilience into infrastructure assets project
Cowra Shire Council - Climate smart innovation in the Central West
Penrith City Council - Climate Adapted People Shelters
Randwick, Waverley and Woollahra Councils - Solar my School
Wingecarribee Shire Council - Lighting the way: Southern Highlands street lighting upgrade

Communication, Education and Empowerment

Ballina Shire Council - Educating our community through animation: let's clean up our river
Blacktown City Council - Community garden and healthy living program
City of Canada Bay - Mind our Mangroves: year 1 
Muswellbrook Shire Council - Sustainable Futures Program
Wingecarribee Shire Council - Backyard burning map app

Community Sharps Management 

Wagga Wagga City Council - Be sharps smart

Innovation in Planning, Policies and Decision Making  

Newcastle City Council - Urban creek rehabilitation and naturalisation
Northern Beaches Council - Protecting public and private assets at Collaroy-Narrabeen Beach

Invasive Species Management

Wagga Wagga City Council - Weed hygiene station

Natural Environment Protection & Enhancement: On-Ground Works 

Bathurst Regional Council - Recovery of the Mac
Kempsey Shire Council - Boyters Lane Wetland rehabilitation project
City of Ryde - Shrimptons Creek riparian rehabilitation project
Tweed Shire Council - Oxley River bank erosion stabilisation

Roadside Environmental Management 

Bathurst Regional Council - Bathurst roadside vegetation management plan
Mid-Western Regional Council - High biodiversity roadside weed control and habitat creation

Sustainable Infrastructure

Penrith City Council - Jordan Springs Community Hub

Water Management

Ballina Shire Council - Smart metering
Liverpool City Council - Amalfi Park Basin: Brickmakers Creek flood mitigation project

Local Sustainability

Blacktown City Council - Sustainable Living Blacktown
City of Parramatta Council - Environmental sustainability strategy

Louise Petchell Memorial Award for Individual Sustainability

Winner to be announced at the Awards on 3 December






NSW Roadside Environment Committee logo


NSW Government sponsors:

Office of Environment and Heritage, Environment Protection Authority, Ministry of Health, Department of Primary Industries & SafeWork NSW