Local Government Debate

  • Date:

    8 March 2019

  • Time:

    10:00 am - 12:00 pm

  • Location:

    Theatrette at Parliament House, Macquarie Street, Sydney

Local Government NSW (LGNSW) and the Country Mayors Association of NSW (CMA) are both strong advocates for local government in this state and understand the issues that matter. The policy decisions made at the state level have a very profound effect on our sector.

Ahead of the March 2019 election, LGNSW and the CMA invite Mayors and General Managers to a Local Government Debate where the leaders of NSW major parties will be given the opportunity to address their party’s views on the issues that matter most to our sector in the form of a question and answer session. The session will be chaired by Cr Linda Scott, President of LGNSW, and Cr Katrina Humphries, Chairperson of the CMA.

Invitations have been sent to:

Party Speaker Attendance
Christian Democrat Party (Fred Nile Group) Revd the Hon. Fred Nile MLC Confirmed
Greens NSW Mr David Shoebridge MLC Confirmed
Liberal Democrats Senator David Leyonhjelm  
NSW Labor Mr Michael Daley MP  
NSW Liberal The Hon. Gladys Berejiklian MP Apology
NSW Nationals The Hon. John Barilaro MP Confirmed
One Nation Mr Mark Latham Confirmed
Shooters, Fishers and Farmers The Hon. Robert Borsak MLC Apology

Each party will be given five minutes to address the audience with their vision for how the state can support local government to thrive. Following this they will be asked to provide answers to pre-submitted questions as well as questions from the floor, should time permit.

We are seeking questions from attending councils. Questions must be succinct and relate to sector wide issues, rather than a specific local government area. Given time constraints, it will be necessary for LGNSW and CMA representatives to collate the questions and to consolidate similarly themed questions where possible. Therefore, not every question submitted will be included in the final list of questions provided to the leaders - submit a question.

Seats are limited so we strongly encourage you to RSVP no later than 31 January 2019. Registrations are limited to 2 attendees per council, with others added to a wait list should there be seats available - register now.

We strongly encourage you to make the time to come along to this as it is a fantastic opportunity for you to engage with the candidates and hear their party’s views on a range of important topics to your constituents.