Media release - Regional NSW dominates at Local Government Week Awards

1 August 2019

Regional councils have dominated the field at a series of special awards handed out to mark Local Government Week 2019, which runs from 29 July to 4 August.

Regional and rural councils took out all but one of the RH Dougherty Awards handed out by Local Government NSW (LGNSW) in Sydney to encourage and recognise best-practice communication by councils to their local communities.

Upper Hunter Shire, Bathurst Regional, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Mid-Western Regional, Bega Valley Shire, Tweed Shire, Bland Shire, Queanbeyan Palerang Regional and Walgett Shire Councils were all big winners, along with Rous County Council in the Northern Rivers region and Randwick City Council.

A high standard of nominations meant a number of councils were also highly commended for their work, including Parkes Shire, Inner West, City of Canada Bay, Cessnock City, Edward River, and Waverley Councils.

Local Government NSW President Linda Scott was joined by Local Government Minister Shelley Hancock in congratulating the award recipients at a presentation ceremony on Thursday at Sydney’s Swissotel.

“As the closest tier of government to the local community, it is critical that councils engage in best practice communication with the people they serve,” Cr Scott said.

“Great two-way communication strengthens local democracy and helps ensure we all have a say in our future.

“We’re so proud as the peak body for local government in NSW to showcase the wonderful work our NSW Councils are doing, and in continuing to work with the State Government to support their efforts.”

Mrs Hancock said each year’s winners’ list raised the bar in exceptional achievement.

“Congratulations to the winners of the 2019 LGNSW Local Government Week Awards and I thank you for going above and beyond in serving your local communities,” Mrs Hancock said.

“I would also like to thank LGNSW for showcasing the wonderful work councils are doing across the State.

“This week local communities have celebrated and acknowledged all their local councils do to make a difference to their daily lives – beyond what we traditionally consider to be councils’ roles and responsibilities.

“Councils are the heart of our communities and the dedicated and committed staff are the heart of our councils.”

Also announced at the ceremony were the winners of the Leo Kelly Arts and Culture Awards: Snowy Valleys Council, Bathurst Regional Council, Mosman Council and the City of Canada Bay.

Planning Awards were handed out to Coffs Harbour City Council and North Sydney Council, with individual leadership gongs awarded to Elizabeth Lambert of Lake Macquarie City Council and Monica Cologna of Cumberland Council.

Youth Week Awards went to Brewarrina Shire, Forbes Shire, Walgett Shire and Camden councils.

View the full list of winners.


Media Enquiries
Toni Allan: 0412 774 441