Media release: LGNSW congratulates Bluett award winners

6 December 2017

Port Macquarie-Hastings Council and Bland Shire Council have been named NSW’s most progressive and innovative councils at the Local Government NSW (LGNSW) Conference in Sydney today.

Port Macquarie-Hastings Council was selected as the 2017 Metropolitan/Regional winner, while Bland Shire Council took out the Rural Category of the state’s oldest and most prestigious local government award.

The A. R. Bluett Memorial Awards were established in 1945 to recognise the greatest relative progress of high-achieving councils in NSW.

They commemorate Alfred Robert Bluett, who served 30 years as the Secretary and Solicitor to the Local Government and Shires Associations of NSW. 

As an authority on local government law, Mr Bluett was instrumental in drafting the state’s first Local Government Act in 1919.

“This award recognises a standard of excellence and innovation that should be the goal of all public service, in all spheres of government,” LGNSW President Keith Rhoades said.

“On behalf of LGNSW, I congratulate the elected representatives, General Managers, council staff and communities of both Bland Shire and Port Macquarie-Hastings on these well-deserved awards.”

Clr Rhoades, in one of his last duties as outgoing LGNSW President, noted the high standard of entries across the board, and commended each and every council that had submitted an entry.

“There can only ever be two official winners of the A. R. Bluett Awards each year: one in the Rural Category and the other in the Metropolitan/Regional Category,” he said.

“But the real winners are the communities who benefit from the hard work and commitment of their elected representatives and professional staff in the local government.”

Media Enquiries
LGNSW President, Cr Keith Rhoades: 0408 256 405
Media Toni Allan: 0412 774 441